Five random things about USA

So, it took me a while, but I arrived in the USA on the green card – and here are some of my first impressions after these two weeks.

Disclaimer – I am in Boston and the around of Boston, so these are true for this area. Also, these are things that are true for me – my experiences, feelings, observations. It may be completely different for you – I’m NOT basing this on any statistics. Also, I make comparisons to Poland – obviously – but I am NOT stating one way or another is better or worse. Just my observations.

  1. America runs on Dunkin

Ever heard this advert? Sure you have. Ever seen a Dunkin café? Also a certainty, if you’ve been to USA. I never paid attention to this during my previous trips to USA, but suddenly I’m seeing Dunkin Donuts everywhere. It feels like I go a few miles, and there’s another one. I might be inclined to believe there are more Dunkin Donuts than Subways. McDonald’s and Starbucks are the same, but I always saw that. The Dunkin Donuts places are the ones that got my attention now.

  1. Americans can take a compliment

Most of the times a Polish person hears a compliment, he or she will add something to make is smaller. Like – I’d tell a Polish girl I like her dress/skirt/whatever, she would say “oh, that old thing, I’ve had it for ages” or “oh, I just found it in my closet, I forgot I had it.” Not in America. They would just  say “Thank you!” in a very enthusiastic voice and sometimes they may add: “It’s so nice of you.” But I’ve never heard them diminish themselves.

  1. They talk about Trump.

When I was here in 2010, throughout the whole year I had only 2 semi-conversations about politics, and both of them were provoked by me. I was just curious on where the person I was talking to stood – left or right/Democrats or Republicans. They just answered the question, and that was it. But now during the two weeks I’ve been involved more or less actively in 5 conversations about Trump. You may think whatever you like about him, but he IS for sure evoking a lot of emotions in people.

And mind you, this is coming from someone who really avoids talking about politics in any country – despite my occasional curiosity over the “Democrat or Republican standing.”

  1. We have prettier metros

Seriously, Polish metro stations are really better-looking. This may actually be an observation about Boston, but from what I remember every station in USA I’ve been to was practically the same – not too pretty, and not entirely clean. I know, I know, Poland has only 2 metro lines, both of them in Warsaw. So maybe that’s why the metro stations are nicer there!

One more thing – the metro in Boston is well-explained and clear, no issues with that!

  1. You need to wait a long time for the white light on pedestrian crossing.

First thing about that – in Poland we have the green light for pedestrian crossing, while in USA it’s white. That said, is it me, or do I have to wait for-like-EVER for the lights to change? Not that anyone except for me actually worries about that – they just cross the streets whenever there is no car coming, regardless of the lights. I’m still too shy/afraid to do this, but maybe with time I’ll join them! Because, as I said, I really have to wait, and wait and wait, for the white light.

So, these are all for now. I still have not decided if I’m going to stay here, or run back home! But, I hope to write more about this country before I depart.

Leave a Reply

