‘Til Death Do Us Part- Kate White (7/32 2017 Reading Challenge)

1

Baily Wiggins is a reporter dealing with “crime stories.” One day, when she’s cozy at her New York apartment she gets a call from Ashley, a fellow bridesmaid at the wedding that had taken place almost a year before. It turns out that Ashely has some disturbing news. Apparently, two other bridesmaids – out of six – died in weird accidents over the past six months. Ashely fears that they were murdered, and that she and Baily are the next ones to go. Baily starts an investigation, which will lead her to an unexpected discovery.

So, first thing I must say is that I disliked the protagonist – and her colleague, Ashley, as well – from the first 3 pages. I mean, someone calls you in the middle of a blizzard, says she has something important to tell you, but only face-to-face, and what do you do? Change your plans immediately, and go out into the blizzard to wherever they want to meet you.

Nope, not me. If I got a “I have to tell you something important right away” call, I’d say, “Then, come along to the coffee place that’s nearest to my apartment.” Not the other way round.

That’s of course a very minor thing of the book, but since it got me to dislike and roll my eyes over the main character from the get-go, I thought it was worth mentioning.

Other than that, I still remember my creative writer’s rule to say something nice about the book/piece of writing. However, I’m going to be rebellious on this one and will list things I did NOT like about this book:

– The protagonist, towards whom I never got any warmer feelings,

– Constant describing of what the characters were wearing, eating, and what kind of make-up they were wearing,

– Payton Cross – the bride at the (in)famous wedding, for which Bailey and Ashely were bridesmaids – being described practically as a “bitch” and having no other (redeeming) qualities. I mean, why would anyone be ever her friend,

– The fact that not too much was going on, and when something WAS – it was treated very randomly and quickly solved,

– The unfulfilled potential of showing how Baily was in constant fear, and how lonely she must have felt, as nobody believed her,

– The constant summary of things, instead of getting into real action,

– Failed attempt at humor, because it’s so funny that a person who works as a dietitian will eat healthy,

– Constant reminders of how ugly the bridesmaids’ dresses were,

– Her going to Florida for practically nothing – and super conveniently having an interview there, so her company (newspaper she worked for) could pay for the trip,

– Bailey’s breaking up with Jack – ooppss, SPOILERS – for no valid reason.

            And well, yeah, let’s list one thing I DID like – who the murdered was. It’s not like I didn’t see it coming, but I still thought it was a good surprise and tied all together.

            All in all, wouldn’t recommend. It’s not completely bad, either – written quite decently, and with a nice ending. It’s probably just that it’s “women’s literature” – or, if you mean, a chick flick – with a little bit of a crime story, and I was expecting, well, a crime story.

            Should have known after The Sixes.

My Rating 4/10

One thought on “‘Til Death Do Us Part- Kate White (7/32 2017 Reading Challenge)

Leave a Reply

