Do you know who you are? (Reading Challenge 2016 – A book published in Poland)

czy-wiesz-kim-jestesThis year, a friend of mine got me interested into 16 personality types based on Jung and Myers theories. Up until that point I was sort of aware of sanguine, choleric, melancholic and phlegmatic types, and I knew what introverts and extraverts were about. But that was about it. The 16 personality types theory proved to be so interesting for me that I even bought this book. And this is a big event when I buy a book. For such an avid reader it sounds a little weird, but I’m a fan of libraries and borrowing books. There are 2 reasons for that: 1. I’m always trying to save some money 2. I don’t like to have too many things at my flat.

                But I digress.

                In the early 20th century Carl Gustav Jung coined the theory of Introverts (who take energy from their inner world) and Extraverts (who take their energy from outside world). Besides, he coined some additional concepts – Judging functions (Thinking or Feeling) and Perceiving functions (Sensing or Intuition). Katherine Cook Briggs, a teacher with an interest in psychology, together with her daughter, Isabel Briggs Myers, developed that theory and coined a way to describe the order of each of Jungian’s preferences. Therefore, we have:

  • Introversion (I) or Extraversion (E)
  • Intuition (N) or Sensing (S)
  • Thinking (T) or Feeling (F)
  • Judging (J) or Perceiving (P)

So, this is basically what this book is about. Jarosław Jankowski, the author, is a pedagogue that is popularizing this theory in Poland. In this book he describes it pretty easily, and writes about each of the 16 personality types, maybe without a thorough analyzation of inner processes, but he writes about strengths and weaknesses, as well as the potential for professional careers, how we behave as parents, friends and lovers – according to our personality types, that is. The book contains the test, from which you can easily and quickly learn what type you are.

So, this ends my review. It was interesting and informative, though when I was reading it from the beginning to the end I started confusing types I read about. But it’s the book I like to have around, cause I’m sure I’ll be coming back to it on many occasions.

I took a test to check my personality 4 times so far, and the first time I got INTJ; the other three times I got INFJ. To make it simpler I decided to be an INFJ. Also, I think it suits me. I hope it’s not just my willingness to believe it, cause I like the concept!

One way or another, one positive thing about my interest towards 16 personality types is that I finally started coming to terms with my own introversion. We have more to be proud of that I used to give us credit for.

More on the subject will follow.

 

One thought on “Do you know who you are? (Reading Challenge 2016 – A book published in Poland)

Leave a Reply

