“Crying for Help” – Casey Watson (2016 Reading Challenge – A non-fiction book)

caseyCasey Watson has been a professional foster care giver for some time now, and she describes her foster kids’ stories in series of books. This one talks about her second foster child, a 12-year-old girl named Sophia. Sophia has been sexually molested in the past and now, as many other kids in her situation, she is extremely sexually provocative. She’s also manipulative – and sick. Her sickness can be controlled if she regularly takes her medicine. But, since she’s deeply disturbed – and a teenager, she doesn’t, using her sickness as some kind of bargaining tool to get what she wants.

This book is hard to review. The literary value is pretty low, to be honest. It’s filled with repetitions, it’s very simply written, and characters lack depth. The most annoying thing for me, though, was the ending of almost each chapter. Once or twice could be all right, but every chapter? I wanted to scream if I read phrases like “little did I know how wrong I was”, or “little did I know how much my life would change”, alternatively “little did I know the worst was yet to come” Ever again! I mean, we get it. It was a difficult situation and Sophia was a ticking bomb. No need to remind us all the time.

That said, I feel a little off reviewing this from literary point of view. I mean, my first instinct is to just admire Casey for taking on such a responsibility. And for not giving up on that girl.

On the other hand, I’d like to hear from other, real-life foster parents that read that book. I had a feeling that Casey was a little foolish sometimes. I felt she should have been a little more consistent with discipline for Sophia. On the other hand, I’ve never even had a child on my own, let alone one with problematic behavior.

One way or another I am filled with real respect for her. For that I will refrain of further criticism of the book as such, and will just stop with saying that it’s great she writes these books. They are a proof that foster care can be rewarding and that there are people in this world that are willing to help others selflessly.

One thought on ““Crying for Help” – Casey Watson (2016 Reading Challenge – A non-fiction book)

Leave a Reply

