Jo Nesbø “The Bat” (Reading challenge 2016, a Thriller)

Jo Nesbo

Original (Norwegian) title – “Flaggermusmannen”

 

Nesbo 1

                Another one lent to me by a friend.

                Literally nothing more to say 🙂

                Anyway, Harry Hole, a Norwegian detective, comes to Australia to solve a mystery of a murder of a Norwegian girl working in Australia.

                Again, literally nothing more to say.

                It doesn’t happen too often, but sometimes there’s a book that I just don’t know how to describe. It was quite decent, but forgettable. I couldn’t get attached to any of the characters. It’s not that I didn’t like them. More that I didn’t care for them one way or another. The only interesting thing about the main protagonist was his backstory about his drinking problem. Even that kept me for like two minutes.

                The thing I truly liked more about this book was the stories about Australia a little bit of its history.

                As for the mystery, I didn’t even bother to guess.

                I wouldn’t exactly say that it’s a bad book. Just that it didn’t evoke any emotions in me. Or maybe this automatically means that it’s not good?

                Not sure, but one way or another, it’s plain. Simple as that.

PS Now that I think of it, I probably should put “Sharp Objects” as “thriller” and this as “crime story,” but it is what it is 🙂

PS 2 I read a few opinions on GoodReads and they all praise this book highly. So maybe there’s something wrong with me? 🙂

One thought on “Jo Nesbø “The Bat” (Reading challenge 2016, a Thriller)

Leave a Reply

