My Green Card – Miracles Happen :)

USA

                A few days ago I collected my „biggest treasure” – my passport with immigrant visa.

                And here I am, staring at it. After having shown it to a few people, and looked at it for a considerable amount of time, I think it finally starts to hit me. I have an immigrant visa. I can go to “my USA” and stay there forever.

                It awakes a lot of feelings in me. There’s relief, of course, and some feeling of completion. There’s excitement – how could there not be. Lots of joy, but also, still, some disbelief. And fear. Lots of fear. Fear that is caused by unanswered questions that range from What am I supposed to do now? right to What have I done to myself? Fear that is sometimes so big that if yet another person tells me I am brave, I swear I’ll scream.

                But, one way or another, it’s time to stop whining and start planning. In the meantime, I’m going to describe this process step by step in a series of posts. Hopefully, it will help some of those that are in a similar position that I am/was.

                Because, after all, participants in 2017 DV lottery are able to check their status now.

Leave a Reply

