52 books challenge (2015) summary 2

New Year has come and I have to officially admit that I did not meet my “I will read 52 books in 2015” challenge.

If this challenge taught me anything is that quality matters, not quantity. That it’s not worth to waste my time trying to finish a book I don’t enjoy for the sake of finishing – or for some silly challenge; and that I don’t have as much time for reading as I used to.

Okay, I knew all that already. I just got re-assured.

But, 49 is not such a bad result, I expected it to be worse. Out of these 49 here’s my top 5.

5. The Orphan’s Tales – In the Night Garden (Catherynne M. Valente)

1A lonely girl with tattoos on her eye-lids tells her stories to one of sultan’s son. The book is filled with old magic, out-of-this-world creatures, and quick action. It’s written in exquisite language, and captivates the reader from the first page.

4. Gone Girl (Gillian Flynn)

Gone GirlA thriller about a missing wife and her husband as a main suspect of her murder. Written from two perspectives – the wife’s and the husband’s – takes the reader to a journey through one marriage, where something is going terribly wrong. Thrilling book that keeps you guessing and makes you keep on reading till the very last page.

3. Thief’s Magic (Trudi Canavan)

Thief's Magic

First part of the new trilogy, Millennium’s Rule. Written from two perspectives, so it reads like two separate books. One protagonist is Tyen, a student of archeology, who discovers a book, which was once a woman. The other is Rielle, who has the power to do magic, but has been told her whole life using magic means stealing from angels. As usually, Trudi creates interesting characters, fascinating wolrds and makes it exteremly hard to put her books down. I have to get my hands on the second part of this trilogy, and I have to do it fast!

2. Speak (Laurie Halse Anderson) Speak!

Melinda Sordino was raped during a party, but when she called the police and they came, she wasn’t able to talk about it. Now, she’s hated by everyone at her school, and not being able to express her pain, she finds solace in silence. A book about how important, yet hard, it is to speak up and fight for yourself. Also, about not ignoring the silent ones, cause they might be fighting their quite battles, and inside they might be screaming for help.

  1. I Am the Messenger (Markus Zusak) I am the Messenger

Ed Kennedy is a taxi driver. An averege Australian, with no bigger hopes for any kind of greatness. One day, he receives an ace and is sent on a mission. A mission to help ordinary people, just like himself. I can’t quite explain why I put this book on the first place. It must be something about Markus Zusak’s prose, something that gets right into my heart and won’t let go of me. Not that I would want to.

For me, Markus is brilliant.

Okay, so here are my top 5. I decided to ignore the fact that my top 2 are actually (sort of) Young Adult books, and will not analyze it. I promise. I will not.

 

Leave a Reply

