Harry Potter series (43-49/52 books challenge)

harry potter

I remember the first time I heard about Harry Potter – my sister told me somewhere in Rome Catholics were burning these books. I don’t even know if that’s true, but of course, it aroused my curiosity immediately. I have a vague feeling it should not be like that, but if the church is fighting with something, I want to read it. I was a little disappointed at first, because, well – these books didn’t say a word about church. But, I got a nice treat instead – a great fantasy saga.

A few weeks ago I saw the last two Harry Potter movies on TV and decided I want to learn about that story one more time, so I read it from the first till the last book. I was right – I saw it in a slightly different way than upon the first reading, but I still enjoyed it and I still have a lot of respect for it.

           It’s the story that most of us know – an abused 11-year-old orphaned boy finds out that he’s a wizard and learns about this whole, hidden words of witchcraft. He goes to the new school, meets new friends, gets to know about the whole enchanted world that is hidden from the “non-magical” people. He has a lot of adventures, some setbacks, a few quarrels, a few big loses, and becomes her on the way.

           My respect for these series comes from two main reasons. First of all, I have a lot of admiration for creating great worlds with all different magical creatures. I know some people – my parents included – think this is basically bullshit, but I think it’s a great triumph of imagination. The other reason is that the series give young people some values that are really worth something. They teach that love, friendship, loyalty and responsibility are what matter most. They teach people to unite, not to fight against each other. They teach that it’s better to try to overcome the differences, because that’s what makes us stronger.

          And they also taught me personally one of my favorite phrases “What’s comin’ will come, an’ we’ll meet it when it does”

Leave a Reply

