The Normals -David Gilbert (39/52 books challenge)

The NormalsThis review has taken me forever. Seriously, one of the hardest ones to write. If it wasn’t for this freaking challenge, I 1) wouldn’t have finished it 2) wouldn’t even try to write a review.

But, as it is, I feel I have to write a few words.

I really, really wanted to like this book.

But I didn’t.

I mean, it was compared to One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest and the Catcher in the Rye – and I love both of them. The premise was also – in my humble opinion – great. I should have been perfect. Instead, for me, it was too long and too blunt.

Also, I understand that the main character was supposed to be unattached to anything, and pretty much unemotional. I mean, he didn’t have to be strong. Especially intelligent. Especially talented. He just had to be something. I can’t help it, but I like books/stories/movies where I can relate to the characters. Where they feel like real people.

But my main problem with this book was that I found it boring. I’m all for details and everything, but when there are too many of them, I start to think to myself “Where the fuck is the plot?”

I’m not sure why it’s compared to the works mentioned above. Seriously, not getting it.

But to be honest, I’ve got not much more to say. This novel felt dull. I have a feeling I’ll forget about it pretty fast.

Leave a Reply

