Gabriel’s Angel – Nora Roberts (34/52 books challenge)

Okay, so I know I promised 5 parts of “Defence of Hunger Games,” and there are only 4 published so far. The thing is that the last one is a bonus part about the first movie, and with the last one movie coming out, I’ve decided to just write more posts (yes, yes, I am obsessed) – about each of the movies separetely.

But I – “the biggest fan of The Hunger Games EVER” – currently have enough for some time. And I want to make two montages about THG, the first almost done, the second one not even started. So, I’ll get there, but all in due time.

Now, back to books and my challenge.

Gabriel's Angel

                This one was recommended to me by my roommate – with words “It’s a beautiful book.” In my mind I rolled my eyes, but then I thought “I’ve never read anything by Nora Roberts, why should I criticize?”

                So there, because of my desire not to criticize anything before trying, I ended up reading this… thing.

                Let’s just say, I don’t like romance. Not a tiny bit.

                So, here’s the story. There’s a man, who’s got a temper, but he’s also very caring and loving and generally a good person. There’s also a beautiful woman in need, pregnant and running away from the baby’s grandparents, who want to take the baby away. He protects her, helps her, she give birth to the baby, they get married, he helps her some more, end of story.

                Okay, so let’s get to the chase, because I’ve got much more to say than just “I don’t like romance.”

                First of all, the style. The novel was written from two points of view, which normally is an advantage in my opinion, but in this case it wasn’t. They were thinking about the same thing in pretty much the same manner, so often it felt like reading about the same thing twice. Also, what’s with the foreshadowing? I know it’s a great tool used by many of really good writers, but here it was trying too much. I could pretty much tell how the story would go from the first or second chapter. In this novel the foreshadowing was not a good tool, but bad writing. Thirdly, the “golden rule” of “show, not tell” was not followed in this case. The narrator told us what the characters were like, but I couldn’t feel it either in their actions, or their words, or even their thoughts.

                Then, for the characters. Basically, they just didn’t feel real to me. It’s not that they were unlikeable, it’s rather that I didn’t feel anything for them. Laura, the female protagonist, is beautiful – and nothing more. She’s supposed to be a strong woman, but I had an impression she was constantly crying and apologizing, and then getting upset over nothing. And Gabriel, the male protagonist, is just an epitome of a perfect guy – rich, handsome, a little aggressive, but not too much, cause he’s also caring, loving and faithful. And an artist. What more could a woman want? Right? Right?

Wrong!

                Anyway, now, for the plot. There isn’t any. Oh, I mean there’s something going on for a few pages in the second part of the book, but it ends quicker than it started.

                To sum up – no suspense, no likeable characters, no good writing. Also, completely unrealistic. I’d call it a fairy tale – a Cinderella story. But then again, I’ve never liked Cinderella.

                But I see that it has quite a high note on good reads, so I’m guessing people who actually like romance appreciate it. Maybe it’s a problem with me, not with this novel.

Anyway, let’s just end with conclusion that this is not literature for me and that I will never read Nora Roberts again.

Leave a Reply

