Why I will always defend “The Hunger Games” (part 4)

hunger games booksThe odds are never in our favor

12. What I disliked

Of course, as I already said, the love triangle that lingered too long and was given too much time in the third part. However, there was one more thing:

I wanted to know more about this world. Why did United States fall? How and why did the new country was created? What exactly went on during the first rebellion? These unanswered questions are not so crucial I guess, but the books awakened my imagination and I just wanted to know more.

13. Franchise

the hunger games

I’m still not quite sure if I’m happy or quite the contrary about the fact that it was turned into this big franchise. On one hand, by becoming famous, it can reach more people and maybe get through to them as it did to me. On the other, they made it “all about the teenage love” and I hate it. The aspect of love is there, but it’s about so many more important things, that for me it fades in the background. But I appreciate that in the world of silly computer games and heroines that seem to be mostly concerned about finding a guy, there’s a franchise for young adults that really stands for crucial current issues and can teach them something. And gives the teenagers someone valuable to relate to.

14. Summary

Now, don’t get me wrong with the comparisons to great works. The literary value of The Hunger Games books is not like 1984 or The Lord of the Flies or anything like that. Those were masterpieces, The Hunger Games trilogy are just good books. The protagonist – and the narrator –  is a teenage girl, so I wouldn’t exactly expect the language to be too sophisticated. But it was written in a nice style, the pace was fast, and it is actually a pretty easy read. I don’t love these books for the literary value of it, but for the content. Also, IMHO, it was a good choice to have it described from Katniss’ point of view, that way we learn things when she does, and it adds suspense. Not to mention, it’s more emotional. But I’m a sucker for first-person-narration.

So, overall, despite of its flaws – like the heroine that was thinking too much about her two boyfriends – I love The Hunger Games for talking about important issues. Unfairness of war. Cruelty and thoughtlessness of people.  Social and cultural silly and often hurtful phenomenon like reality TV shows. Dangers of a totalitarian system and dangers of too much power. And dangers of fame. Also, the lack of reflexivity about what we are served by mass media. And if you still think The Hunger Games is not worth anything because it’s for young adults, well, I can’t help it. you are wrongBut you’re wrong!

2 thoughts on “Why I will always defend “The Hunger Games” (part 4)

  1. My editor and I are just going through first round edits on a book I have publishing next year. #12 is exactly where we are. When she said she needed me to explain the hows and whys of how the world in my book came to be in the state it is now in, I thought “Really? But isn’t too much info, well, too much?” So glad to see that you agree with her (at least with regards to The Hunger Games). It’s always good to get a reader’s take. Off to do some more world building…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

