Lucy Maud Montgomery – Short Stories (1904) (31/52 books challenge)

montgomeryMontgomery’s work always have this unusual ability to take me out of whatever I am doing, out of this work, and transfer to a completely different one. Her books and stories may be a tad simple, sometimes too sugary, but Lucy Maud Montgomery is in a big part responsible for my love for books, so I have a big sentiment for her. I have a right. So fuck it.

Let me just say that reading these stories was an interesting experience, because I was doing this in between of some fucked-up, gore stuff like Jack Katchum (Peaceable Kingdom) or Gillian Flynn (Dark Places). Trust me, the contrast was one of a kind.

This collection of stories – as probably any other of L.M.M. – is a series of tales about unlikely friendships, lucky coincidences, prides a little too big, every-day activities gone bad, and unhappy misunderstandings. Everything’s all right at end, though, which is why the first thing that comes to my mind about Maud’s works is innocent. I constantly remind myself she was not a happy person in real life. Despite that – or maybe because of that – her works are usually – if not always – full of hope and promise.

I think most people – or everybody – who as ever read any of Montgomery’s works will tell you she was really able to operate English language and created magnificent language. Her style was recognizable, smooth, suburb. I’ve always thought so, and every book/story I read in original, seems to confirm it. My love for her does not mean I don’t find anything to criticize. I do.

                So, first thing is that her stories are a little repetitive, or just similar to each other, or they are about the same kinds of characters. The other criticism is about characters themselves. They are usually (not always, though) young and attractive. Besides, in these stories they – for my taste – they were also not fully-fleshed. But maybe that’s my problem with a form of short story, there’s not enough time to fully develop the characters, with their little likes and dislikes, and their change.

                Despite whatever criticism I may ever say about any of Montgomery’s works, I’d always recommend them, because all in all, they are positively delightful.

Leave a Reply

