A Street Cat Named Bob – James Bowen (28/52 books challenge)

„Do you have kids?”

„I do.”

“How much for the youngest?”

“W-hat?”

“My cat is like a baby to me, so how much for your youngest child?”

               A Street Cat Named Bob I think this is the best and funniest scene/lines from the book, and no, I don’t think it’s disrespectful to humans/babies. Though right now I don’t have any pet I could call my own, I’ve always understood and related to people calling their pets their children. I think it’s cute.

                Anyway, this book is about a guy James, who spent many years on the streets, addicted to heroin, sleeping in hostels, on the street, in dilapidated buildings. He was just getting better from his addictions, when one day he found a ginger cat on the doorstep of his neighbors’. We can say that this day the cat, later named Bob, and the guy became best friends.

                Let’s put it this way – this book is not great literature. It’s not horribly written, either. It has a somewhat repetitive tone, and the language is far from being sophisticated. So, it’s not for people who are snobby about writing. I sometimes am one of them, but not this time.

               This time I appreciated the beautiful, heartwarming story. It’s not pretending to be anything more. It’s enjoyable, cute and make you think. Highly recommended.

You should definitely check Bob the Cat on the Internet!

PS The quote at the beginning is not exact, but close enough 🙂

Leave a Reply

