Why Men Love Bitches – Sherry Argov (19/52 books challenge)

Why Men Love Bitches Ok, so I generally don’t like books like that. I have this theory that it’s basically about nothing concrete, and that it could be better presented in an article/entry on a blog. But, this one was so famous and my roommate had it, so I borrowed, and read.

First of all, the author loosely re-defined the word “bitch”. A bitch according to the book is just… a normal woman with self-respect. I didn’t particularly like this expression. Why didn’t she just call the book “Why men don’t love desperate women?” I know, I know, it’s not a catchy title, but I am rather disappointed that she decided to call a woman with her own life, for whom a man is not the entire world, “a bitch.” Because that would basically make me a bitch.

Anyway, I guess that’s beside the point.

A few things I have to say about this book.

  1. Most of things seemed pretty obvious for me.
  2. Most of things were repetitive, as if the same thing put in different words and/or context.
  3. Some things were contradictory. Example – we’re supposed to be strong and independent, and pretend not to be able to change a light bulb?

Also, I was a little tired of this style and of exaggeration that was a part of it.

I don’t know, maybe it’s my problem.

Overall, I’m glad it was relatively short J

Leave a Reply

