Gillian Flynn – Gone Girl (4/52 books challenge)

Gone Girl

I have this thing that I do – every time I am at someone’s apartment for the first time (and sometimes even second or third) I go through their shelves with books. (I only hope nobody’s ever had any silent urge to kill me). This is how I got to read this one – I found it on one of my friend’s shelf and I was so proud of myself that this time I will do it “the right way” – read the book first, watch the movie later.

The first thing that came to my mind upon finishing was “OMG, that was one fucked-up story.” But guess what, I like fucked-up stories. This one is a story about marriage, where nothing is as it’s supposed to be. One day, the wife – Amy – goes missing. It doesn’t take the police long to start suspecting the husband, Nick. He’s guilty of many things, but is murder one of them? Now he has to prove he’s innocent, though there is more and more evidence he’s not.

The novel is written from his and her perspective. In the first parts you have Amy’s diary, that the police will sooner or later find. It was interesting for me that it looked like him and her were describing completely different lives, though they were writing about their marriage. I liked the way she was describing their life in her diary, though I suspected there is something more to it than just the girl abused by her husband. And there was.

I couldn’t stop reading this book. I wanted to know what happens next, but more importantly – why it happens, how it happens, and how the main characters’ minds work to make it happen. It’s not just an investigation of a missing person. It’s a psychological thriller where nothing is as it seems, and where toxic relationship of two people can make them crazy.

My favorite parts were hiding and being on the road.

There is one thing I disliked, though. It was far-fetched in some aspects, but especially about the ending. I think you need to disregard the realism and the fact that this wouldn’t probably ever happen in real life to enjoy this book. Nevertheless, I liked it. It is a dark, sharp and well-paced piece of work. As I said at the beginning, it’s a fucked- up story. But – so absorbing.

Leave a Reply

