The Fault in Our Stars – John Green

               The Fault in Our Stars It’s been a while, but I don’t care. I spent this time studying and writing. I completed my first semester of my second degree (tourism) with the grade point average of 4.9, and I can’t even remember if I’d ever had such a big one. Maybe in primary school. And this is coming from a person that completed her first degree (American literature) with a scholarship. Second thing that was taking up my time was writing my book – a sequel to the one I had completed a few years ago. And a week ago I finished the second part, and already started the third (and hopefully the last one). So, basically I’m proud of myself. Even if I’m a nerd, and even if none of my books are ever going to be published, or nobody ever reads the second part, I don’t care. I’m proud of myself. So there.

                Getting to the point –

The Fault in Our Stars is the only book I read for the book club I’m supposed to belong to – we talked about it during the only meeting I showed up to (I always seem to have something more important to do on Friday evenings, most likely am just out of town). The story is about a teenager love, where both lovers fight cancer. I devoured it in one day and I (a little shamefully) admit I cried buckets during ¾ of it. The novel is written from the first person narration of Hazel Grace, a teenager terminally sick with cancer. On one of her cancer support group meetings she meets Gus Waters – and together they have a romance of a lifetime.

Just kidding.

They do have a relationship; one that is marked by death, but they also know how to have fun and how to enjoy life while they can. The book is full of humor, despite the tragic theme, and it just shows that cancer patient are the same as normal people – they want to have fun, fall in love, make friendships. They want to love and they are afraid of oblivion. The characters from the book could teach us how to seize the day, an ability I still haven’t mastered.

I love books told in first person narration, even though they may (and usually are) be biased, i.e. can only show one person’s point of view. It’s supposed to be more dangerous than the safe choice of third person narration. Despite the flaws I feel closer to the protagonist when he/she tells the story, and I feel I can relate to her/him more that way. Plus, in this case, the author is a man writing as a girl, which for me was pretty interesting.

Overall, it’s a book for teenagers and about teenagers, b.ut it can also appeal to wider audience (especially female) It has a style that’s quick to read, though not too sophisticated. Taking its target group into consideration – it has the proper style of writing. The characters were mostly likable and you could relate to them and feel for their pain/loss. My favorite character was that of Isaac, because I believed his reaction to what was happening to him was the most human and genuine. The person I disliked most was Gus, cause I sort of felt he was unrealistic. Also, what is up with the holding of the cigarette, but not lighting it up? I don’t buy the point of “holding the lethal weapon and not giving it the power to kill.”

It didn’t stop me from liking the book, though. Surely, it’s not the big love I have for a few selected novels, but it’s a good and quick read. If you’re prone to cry while reading – as I am – don’t read it in public, though.

Leave a Reply

